The rock-cut temple is a unique example of monolithic structure in the sub-Himalayan region. The beautiful and complex structure of this temple stands magnificently on a hill crest and was erected around in 8th century. The entire complex comprises more than 15 Shikhar temples and a large rectangular water tank known as 'gan' in the local dialect. Unfortunately, most of the Shikhars of this historical temple have lost their base owing to a massive earthquake in 1905.
In the centre of this complex, stands the main temple, the most elaborate carved shrine, the Thakurdwara that enshrines the black stone images of Lord Ram, Sita and Laxmana facing east. The main shrine consists of a square Garbhgraha. This structure also includes a rectangular ``mandappa' with four massive columns and mukhmandappa, with four subsidiary shrines on either side. The main door is the witness of beautiful ornamental works on its surface. Each side of the mandappa gives way to a stair case, which ascends, to a roof terrace.
As per the archaeological evidences, it appears this temple was originally dedicated to Lord Shiva but after the earthquake, it was converted into the abode of Lord Rama. But in the absence of inscription, any other contemporary, epigraphic or literary records of the patronage, the exact period of the construction of the temple can not be ascertained, however, on the basis of architecture and sculptural decoration, this temple has been assigned a date somewhere between 8th and 9th century AD.